Blabberize

11 Jan

I tried out blabberize in my classroom a couple of months ago.  I had made “blabbers” several times, but had never had an idea of how to use them in the classroom.  Students were researching planets in reading class.  The other 5th grade teachers were having them write a paper.  I wanted to try something a little different.  So we blabberized them!

First each student was assigned a planet and had to research it.  Then they had to write a script speaking as though the were the planet.  They were required to give a certain number of facts in the script (although I can’t remember how many I said now).

Each student found an image of their assigned planet on Schools Clipart (a site paid for by our district). They then read the script into blabberize using microphones.

Here is one example of a finished product.

The students loved the project and used much more creativity than I would have thought. I would love to use blabberize again, have you used it in your classroom?  Do you have other ideas?

6 Responses to “Blabberize”

  1. Jan S October 25, 2010 at 7:53 pm #

    I want to use blabberize with our students. Did you setup a login for each of your students? Do you have email accounts for each of your students or did you piggyback on another email account?
    Do you have any suggestions b/f we get started that could help?
    Thx for sharing! I love the example.

    • linnic June 12, 2011 at 12:52 pm #

      I had each student use my account, this gave me control over the accounts.

  2. Amy H January 30, 2011 at 4:46 pm #

    Did you have each student create their own log-in OR did they use yours?
    I’m thinking of having them Blabberize their next story….

    • linnic June 12, 2011 at 12:52 pm #

      They all used my login.

  3. Jan S June 21, 2011 at 12:48 pm #

    It worked for us creating short first person history “reports” BUT we had a lot of trouble using the microphone to record. Using CELL PHONES worked best!!! (teacher cellphones)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. They had me at, “welcome to Blabberize.com” - January 26, 2010

    […] Linnic uses blabberize.com in her classroom. Once you know what Blabberize is you will know she is an Über kewl teacher. […]

Leave a Reply

