Finding Balance

18 Jan

Technology has always been a love of mine.  Last year I began to really allow technology to infiltrate my life both personally and professionally.  I joined many social networks, twitter, facebook, and started this blog.  I began scouring the internet for the most valuable technology websites and resources for the classroom.  All of this computer time had some unintended consequences.

I began spending more time on the computer than with my kids.  I am a mom to three kids (2, 6, and 9).  One of my kids has some significant emotional and behavioral concerns.  His needs increased by a lot this fall,balance1 and I I needed to refocus my priorities. I stopped using the computer at home except to occasionally check email.  I neglected this blog, and most other social network outlets.

As I sat down to write some new year’s resolutions over the past few weeks, I realized that I need to continue with my “online life.”  I had taken more or less two months off and needed to get back into it.  In my position as a technology resource teacher, I need to stay on top of the latest tools and resources.  Twitter, my RSS feeds, facebook, and several message boards are the main source of professional development that I get.  If I completely neglect them as I have lately, I am not growing.

I need to find a balance.  I have not found that yet, and probably won’t for a while.  My blog and twitter posts will be sporadic, but not as sporadic as they have been lately.  I am going to be more diligent in posting about resources I am finding.  Einstein once said Life is like riding a bicycle. To keep your balance you must keep moving.”  While I have been at a standstill for a while now, I intend to keep moving and in doing so, find and maintain a balance.

2 Responses to “Finding Balance”

  1. Colette Cassinelli January 19, 2009 at 10:28 am #

    Finding the balance is tough for a busy mom and teacher.

    Realizing you can’t do it all and finding the right resources to help you do your job more efficiently is smart and completely appropriate for an edtech person. I rarely go find resources myself these days. Bloggers like Larry Ferlazzo http://larryferlazzo.edublogs.org/, Richard Byrne http://www.freetech4teachers.com/ are incredible resources besides the GCT discussion board. Why should I spend time looking through websites – now I just look for smart people to help me do my job?

    It’s OK to having training wheels to help keep your balance!

  2. Christine January 20, 2009 at 9:50 am #

    Oh gosh, your post spoke to me as I struggle with finding balance too. It’s so easy to get caught up in it all – twitter, im, blogging etc that we lose site of our life outside of school. I often compare myself to other and wonder how everyone seems to find the time and do such amazing things but I’m learning that they probably don’t have young ones at home or some other part of their job must suffer just a little as they excel in other areas. Right now I find myself twittering less, blogging less and I’m learning to be OK with that. I’m loving the time that I spend with my girls and realizing more and more that my legacy will ultimately be them.

Leave a Reply

