Data- a Magical Solution

9 Dec

In education, we deal with a ton of data.  I can’t begin to count the number of hours I have used excel spreadsheets.  When I was in the classroom, my whole gradebook was in excel- everything calculated for each standard that I taught.  My first year I spent countless hours editting cells to show first name last name; last name, first name; first name middle intitial…. you get the idea.  I wished for an easier way to do that for each and every kid.  Now there is one.excel

Kirk Longhoffer posted on his blog about Magic/ Replace.  This tool will let you reformat large amounts of data.  See this video to understand. It could literally save to MANY hours of formatting time!

3 Responses to “Data- a Magical Solution”

  1. fellow teacher February 6, 2009 at 10:29 am #

    May need to consider FERPA issues

    • linnic February 6, 2009 at 11:39 am #

      Yes, you would need to carefully consider what you were posting.

  2. Kendall205 April 1, 2009 at 4:44 pm #

    I think this is an awesome Idea. When I begin teaching, I would like to be able to keep track of things on my computer rather than on paper for fear of forgetting my grade book. I am, however, not a fan of tedious data entry and I know that I will probably hate it even more once I have to keep track of a grade book. I think This is a fantastic way to make data entry and changes in the entries much easier. Thanks for posting about it.

Leave a Reply

