It’s Delicious!

3 Sep

When our year first began nearly a month ago, I asked teachers at my school to complete a survey about their technology knowledge.  One of the questions asked about Web 2.0 tools.  I dare say out of a staff of over 60, only 3 seemed to have heard the term.  Today was our first inservice since our initial week of inservices, and I did a short presentation on Delicious.  It was our staff’s introduction to Web 2.0.  I heard mixed reviews of the session, as I knew I would.  Some were very excited about being able to share websites so easily, some were still intimidated by the fact we were using computers, but that’s ok, everyone has to start somewhere.

We are going to try to link up everyone in our building who has created an account.  It should make sharing resources much easier.  While I am excited about the fact that so many want to use Delicious, I am more excited that even people who are intimidated about jumping into using technology in education are willing to try it. 

I posted last week about my world being turned upside down at school.  I went from being the computer lab teacher to a true technology resource teacher with the addition of a new teacher and the change of space required to accommodate a new classroom.  This change was met (like most changes) with some resistance.  Teachers gave up a 45 minute lab time, which means a 45 minute plan time each week.  I hope that teachers soon see that this means that I can spend more time helping the teachers become more familiar and comfortable with using technology in the classroom.

So while, we didn’t land on the moon, I think Delicious became “one small step for teachers, one giant leap for our school community.”

If you are not on Delicious, I would encourage you to sign up.  If you are, add me to your network!  My name on Delicious is 259lcox.

One Response to “It’s Delicious!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. its not just tasty « Douglas and Main - September 4, 2008

    […] 4, 2008 · No Comments Its Delicious! And linnic serves it up with a plate of Web […]

Leave a Reply

