Quotes

26 Aug

I needed a little inspiration today.  I love quotes, and feel like there is a lot that can be learned from a snip-it of wisdom.  Enjoy a few about education.

“Learning is finding out what you already know, Doing is demonstrating that you know it, Teaching is reminding others that they know it as well as you do. We are all learners, doers, and teachers.”–Richard David Bach

“What sculpture is to a block of marble, education is to the soul.” –Joseph Addison

“It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.” –Aristotle

“Teaching is not a lost art, but the regard for it is a lost tradition.” –Jacques Martin Barzun

“The only thing that interferes with my learning is my education.” –Albert Einstein

“It is the supreme art of the teacher to awaken joy in creative expression and knowledge.” –Albert Einstein

“I hear and I forget.  I see and I remember.  I do and I understand.”– Unknown

“A teacher who is attempting to teach without inspiring the pupil with a desire to learn is hammering on a cold iron.”  Horace Mann

Acquire new knowledge whilst thinking over the old, and you may become a teacher of others.” — Confucius

2 Responses to “Quotes”

  1. douglasandmain August 26, 2008 at 9:53 pm #

    Here is some more inspiration

  2. Estie Cuellar September 1, 2008 at 3:39 pm #

    Wonderful reading…now, here are some of my favorites…

    Do or do not, there is no try. – Yoda

    The harder I work, the luckier I get. – Henry Ford

    Education is what survives when what has been learned has been forgotten. -B.F. Skinner

    With regard to excellence, it is not enough to know, but we must try to have and use it. -Aristotle

    Just as the sun fights to shine after a raging storm, so must we if we are to conquer the violent storms of life. -E.Cuellar

    There is no security on this earth, there is only opportunity.
    -General Douglas MacArthur

    Don’t be a fool and die for your country. Let the other sonofabitch die for his. -General George S. Patton

Leave a Reply

