First Day

14 Aug

Today was the first day back for students.  It is always so exciting to see them stream into the building, backpacks filled with a new year’s worth of supplies, a bright smile on their face, and ready for a new year of learning.  Students rushed in happy to see their friends and teachers.  We have a very high turnover rate at our building and I was thrilled to see so many familiar faces, it was thrilling to see new faces too of course!

This is my second year teaching K-5 in the computer lab, prior to that I taught 5th grade.  Today I was reminded how much those little kindergarteners grow bythe end of the year, which means I forgot where we started last year.  They don’t know how to walk in a line yet, don’t know how to sit still, and don’t know all of their letters and numbers.  They are very tired by the end of the day and many can’t stay awake during that last hour.  I must say a big “thank you” to all of the kindergarten teachers out there.  They truly do give the kids the foundation of their education.  I look forward to seeing how much this year’s group grows!

Like the kids, I too am looking forward to a great year of learning!  I learn just as much from them as they learn from me.  I am excited to share with them the things I learned at the Google Teacher Academy, as well as other workshops I attended over the summer.

I love working in a field where every year is truly a fresh start.  Every year we get to examine the good things from the past, and look forward to an exciting future filled with new opportunities.  We get to rework what failed before, improve what worked, and polished those lessons that seemed wonderful.  We have a brand new group of eager kids that are ready to learn and ready to discover everything they can.

I hope that everyone has a wonderful school year!

Leave a Reply

