Wordle

20 Jun

CoolCatTeacher posted this week about a neat site I hadn’t seen before,called Wordle. It will allow you to take either your delicious tags or any other text that you type or copy-paste in, and it will create a word cloud from the text. With the most frequently used words larger and lesser used words are smaller. I used my delicious tags and was presented with the picture at the right.

Could this be used with students? Actually I think it could have a few educational uses. They could copy-paste a story they had written, or a research paper. Are the words that emerge really the most important words? Does one word such as “and” appear huge while all other words are small? This could be a great visual for those kiddos who repeat the same words throughout their stories. On that research assignment that was supposed to be about Harriet Tubman- was the largest word the most appropriate? Do those words really describe her? The kids would have so much fun with this and I am sure there are many other uses.

Warning, this can become addictive!! Changing the color and having it reformat again and again to see the different shapes, using different text to see what comes out next…. I don’t want to see us have to start a wordles anonymous group!!

3 Responses to “Wordle”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Politics and Wordle « Teaching Tomorrow - September 5, 2008

    […] not going to get into politics on here, but I thought this could be used in an educational way.  I have posted about wordle before.  It is a great program that will take a bunch of words- in this case McCain […]

  2. Wordle in the Classroom « Teaching Tomorrow - October 31, 2008

    […] 31, 2008 by linnic I first mentioned Wordle on this blog back in June.  Mrs. Nicholson wrote to me this week and told me about how she used it in her classroom.  I […]

  3. Wordle and Animoto in the Classroom « Teaching Tomorrow - June 25, 2009

    […] next project was wordle.  I have posted on wordle more than once.  It is one of my favorite tools to use with students.  They love using it, it is […]

Leave a Reply

