Predictions

10 Jun

It is common to hear predictions of what technology will look like in the future. No doubt some are close to the mark, and no doubt that some will prove to be way off. Here is one such prediction. I found this at a KU blog http://blogs.soe.ku.edu/~helpdesk/ Hard to believe that 50 years ago the thought of a computer in the average home was not feasible, yet today, many homes have several. Gotta love the steering wheel!!

2 Responses to “Predictions”

  1. Anne Mirtschin June 11, 2008 at 5:04 pm #

    Love the title of your blog. Saw your post on classroom20.com and thought I would visit. I am classified as a baby boomer, so I taught on typewriters, took family leave and returned to find computers in my classroom. At that time the ‘big systems’ were nearly the size in your photograph. The students had to virtually teach me. Now I just love web2.0 and use that wherever possible. Students have all started their own individual blogs and most of our teachers have a blog as well which makes for an exciting environment.

  2. Lynn Marentette June 11, 2008 at 7:12 pm #

    I love it. When I was a little girl, I visited Expo ’67 in Montreal, there were several exhibits about the “future”. What I remember most was the telecommunications pavillion, and the TV phone that was supposed to be in everyone’s home some day soon.

    Does Skype count?

    The Library and Archives of Canada has an on-line exhibit about Expo 67, along with lesson plans for teachers:
    http://www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/expo/053301_e.html

    Another related site:
    http://expo67.morenciel.com/an_expo67/

Leave a Reply

