ToonDoo

14 May

Someone told me about a new site called Toondoo.  SO of course I had to go play around with it!  It really is pretty cool, and kids would LOVE it!!  You are able to create a comic strip online.  Teachers have been using comic strips for a long time to teach dialogue, retelling, writing skills, as well as many other skills.  This site is one that you have to create an account to do, including an email address.  I used a mailinator address so that I didn’t have to mess with the possibility of spam.  I will have to talk about Mailinator in a future post, it is a great service for school or home use.  I have included a screen shot of a little comic I threw together for the purposes of posting here, it will give you an idea of the site.  It was very easy to use- a lot of “grab ‘n drag”.  Kids would need very minimal instructions on use after registering, which took less than a minute of my time (just a user name, password, and email address).

2 Responses to “ToonDoo”

  1. mozey May 14, 2008 at 10:13 am #

    it seems to be a bit more polished than my site!, but its all good, some competition would’nt hurt, 🙂

  2. Natalie F. June 14, 2008 at 12:49 pm #

    I’m a big comic fan and use them in my classes every chance I get. They’re not only a great creative exercise, but are also a wonderful visual teaching tool. I’ve found several downloadable ebooks at http://www.dedicatedteacher.com that have helped me integrate comics into my lessons, be they math, history, or writing. And thanks for the link! It looks great for those of us who are usually limited to drawing stick-people.

Leave a Reply

